Board of Trustees

The Rural Trust is governed by a national Board of Trustees, serving rotating three-year terms and led by a chair elected from its members.

The Board sets policy for the organization and secures the resources to advance the Rural Trust's mission.


Alan Richard Rural Trust Chair


Alan Richard
Washington, D.C.


Francisco J. Guajardo, Ph.D. Rural Trust Vice Chair

Francisco J. Guajardo, Ph.D.
Associate Professor,
Department of Educational Leadership
University of Texas Pan American
Edinburg, Texas


  Rural Trust Treasurer

Jolanda J. Burton
Assoc. Business Performance Analyst
Specialized Billing Department
Dominion Electric Delivery
Richmond, Virginia
  Rural Trust Secretary

Mark Cantu, Ph.D.
Education Specialist
School Support Organization 
Education Service Center, Region 20
San Marcos, Texas
  Doug D. Christensen, Ph.D.
Professor of Leaderhship Studies
Doane College
Lincoln, Nebraska
  Lee Francis, IV
National Director and President
Wordcraft Circle of Native
Writers and Storytellers
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Kathleen J. Gebhardt, J.D.
Executive Director
Children's Voices
Boulder, Colorado
  William J. Mathis, Ph.D.
Managing Director
National Education Policy Center
Brandon, Vermont
Robert Mahaffey
Executive Director
Rural School and Community Trust
Washington, District of Columbia